International Journal of Inactivism (now supplanted by Decoding SwiftHack)

2008/12/22

International Conference on Climate Change: The Remix Challenge

cite as: F. Bi. 2008. International Conference on Climate Change: The Remix Challenge. Intl. J. Inact., 1:197–198

Jeepers creepers, I just discovered that the Heartland Institute, which organized the inactivist “2008 International Conference on Climate Change” in March, actually ran a YouTube video promoting the ‘conference’ back in January.

Now, if I have enough time, I’ll probably try to remix it in time for their “2009 International Conference on Climate Change” next year. For one thing, the background muzak is ripped from the opening of A Little Less Conversation, and is too cheesy (in my very very humble opinion). Maybe I’ll replace the background muzak with the opening strains of Richard Strauss’s Also sprach Zarathustra. Or something by Paris Hilton, I don’t know. Perhaps I’ll also work in some references to

However, I’m somewhat short of time at the moment, so I’ll leave this as a creative challenge to all of you: How would you like to promote Heartland’s conference next year? Remix the promotional video in whatever way you wish, and let us know what you come up with! 🙂

Update 2009-01-24: By yours truly. Not a remix, but it does use Also sprach Zarathustra. 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. Frank, it looks to me as if some serious damage may be getting done via a quite different conference. See my comment at Hot Topic for details.

    Comment by Steve Bloom — 2008/12/29 @ 07:07 | Reply

  2. Steve Bloom:

    Hmm… I recall DeSmogBlog talking about Ed Ring and ECOworld a while back. I didn’t know about their conference though.

    (By the way, while typing the above I accidentally misspelt “ECOworld” as “CEOworld”. Must be a Freudian slip…)

    Comment by frankbi — 2008/12/29 @ 15:41 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

